Pittsburgh Theological Seminary

Meet Our Faculty

The members of the Pittsburgh Theological Seminary Faculty are committed to the scholarly, professional, and personal preparation of men and women for Christian service in the Church. Many members of the faculty are regular contributors to the Church's and world's scholarly knowledge through publications and participation in learned societies in the Americas, Asia, and Europe.

     John P. Burgess
James Henry Snowden Professor of Systematic Theology
jburgess@pts.edu
412-924-1430 
           William Carl III
President, Professor of Homiletics
wcarl@pts.edu
412-924-1366  
             
 

Ronald Cole-Turner
H. Parker Sharp Professor of Theology and Ethics
coleturn@pts.edu
412-924-1426

   

Jerome F. D. Creach
Robert C. Holland Professor of Old Testament
jcreach@pts.edu
412-924-1428

             

 

Leanna K. Fuller
Assistant Professor of Pastoral Care
lfuller@pts.edu
412-924-1459

   

Robert A. J. Gagnon
Associate Professor of New Testament
gagnon@pts.edu
412-924-1416

             
  Angela Dienhart Hancock
Assistant Professor of Homiletics and Worship
ahancock@pts.edu
412-924-1451
    Edith M. Humphrey
William F. Orr Professor of New Testament
ehumphrey@pts.edu
412-924-1424
             
 

Byron H. Jackson
Louise and Perry Dick Associate Professor of Church Education, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty
bjackson@pts.edu
412-924-1374

   

Susan Kendall
Director of the Doctor of Ministry Program
skendall@pts.edu
412-924-1421

             
 

L. Roger Owens
Associate Professor of Leadership and Ministry
lowens@pts.edu
412-924-1458

   

Andrew Purves
Jean and Nancy Davis Professor of Historical Theology
apurves@pts.edu
412-924-1429

             
 

R. Drew Smith
Professor of Urban Ministry
rsmith@pts.edu
412-924-1457

    Johannes G.J. Swart
Associate Professor of World Mission and Evangelism
jswart@pts.edu
412-924-1461
             
 

Ron E. Tappy
G. Albert Shoemaker Professor of Bible and Archaeology, Director of the Kelso Museum of Near Eastern Archaeology
rtappy@pts.edu
412-924-1427

   

Sharon Taylor
Donald G. Miller Librarian and Director of the Barbour Library
staylor@pts.edu
412-924-1350

             
  Lisa L. Thompson
Assistant Professor of Homiletics
lthompson@pts.edu
412-924-1460
 
    Steven Tuell
James A. Kelso Professor of Hebrew and Old Testament
stuell@pts.edu
412-924-1407
             
 

Heather Vacek
Assistant Professor of Church History
hvacek@pts.edu
412-924-1453

   

Edwin Chr. van Driel
Associate Professor of Theology
evandriel@pts.edu
412-924-1425